Fish and chips and a walk on the beach

This reminds me that I need to study up on some typical British phrases!! (Maybe I should invest in a British phrasebook? Is that even a thing?)

Photography & Inspiration

Fish and Chips

Having married into an English family, I am happily adopting my husband’s traditions, tastes and favorite things like Yorkshire Tea(with milk only, no sugar) and football (soccer).  I’ve even learned some basic translations so I can speak British English when I’m overseas: thermos = flask, backyard = garden, fries = chips, chips = crisps, dinner = tea, dessert = pudding, and so on! One tradition I find myself craving today is that of a blustery, brisk walk on a cold beach followed by a well-earned feast of piping-hot fish and chips with a side of mushy peas, of course, and a pot of tea. The walk and the meal complement each other so perfectly! We’ve had some great fish and chips in England, most notably at The Magpie in Whitby, but also at the Waterford Arms in Seaton Sluice (pictured above, prints available in my Etsy shop). The…

View original post 32 more words

Leave a Reply

